Select Page
ACRM Stroke Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group Header

Young Investigator Award in Post-Acute Stroke Rehabilitation


The ACRM Young Investigator Award recognizes an individual professional and ACRM member who demonstrates drive and commitment to furthering rehabilitation research in the area of post-stroke care, measurement, and/or stroke patient outcomes.

This award is open to young investigators <5 years post training. The recipient will be expected to present his/her work during the ACRM Annual Conference.




Congratulations to Emily Kringle PhD, OTR/L, recipient of the 2023 ACRM Young Investigator Award in Post-Acute Stroke Rehabilitation. This award lectureship recognizes professionals who demonstrate drive and commitment to furthering rehabilitation research in the area of post-stroke care, measurement, and/or stroke patient outcomes. Read More >>


  • Candidates have made significant contributions to stroke rehabilitation research during their early career work.
  • Candidate must be a current member of ACRM.
  • Candidate must attend the current year’s ACRM annual conference.
  • The candidate does not need to be the senior author on all papers submitted as part of the application process but must be the senior author on at least one of the papers submitted.
  • Members may self-nominate.


  • A statement of approximately 500 words in length outlining the nominee’s research accomplishments in rehabilitation.
  • Three letters of support written by ACRM members and submitted through the ENDORSEMENT FORM.
  • Three peer-reviewed publications. Manuscripts accepted, but not yet published, are acceptable as well as those already in print.
  • A CV for the nominee.

Demonstration of service to ACRM, although not a required criteria, will be considered in review of the application. As such, it is advantageous to discuss any such service in one’s nomination statement.


Please submit nomination statement, publications and CV as one pdf via email to Stroke ISIG Chair: Maria Cecilia Alpasan.



    2022: Sutanuka Bhattacharjya, MS, PhD, OTR/L
Health Promotion after Stroke: Restoring Physically Active Lifestyles through Engagement in Meaningful Activities

          2021: Candice Osborne, PHD, MPH, OTR
          Using Problem Solving Training to Support the Transition From Hospital to Home After Stroke

2020: Rachel Proffitt, OTD, OTR/L
Advancing Stroke Rehabilitation: Personal.Purposeful.Precise

2019: Suzanne Burns, PhD, OTR
Adults With Post-Stroke Executive Dysfunction: Understanding Real-World Performance in the Lived Environment

2018: Kimberly P. Hreha, EdD, MS, OTR/L
Community Dwelling Stroke Survivors with Multiple Incidence of Stroke: A Follow-Up Study Assessing Motor and Spatial Dysfunction

2017: John Ross Rizzo, MD
Eye Control Deficits Coupled to Hand Control Deficits: Eye-Hand Incoordination in Chronic Stroke