Distinguished Member Award

Distinguished Member Award


Established in 1988, the Distinguished Member Award honors an ACRM member who significantly contributes to the development and functioning of ACRM. Qualified nominees are ACRM members who provide extraordinary service as a member or chair of a committee, task force, ISIG, or networking group. These individuals demonstrate leadership and organizational abilities, and exemplify public service.


Congratulations to 2018 Recipient

Stephanie Kolakowsky-HaynerACRM is pleased to recognize Stephanie Kolakowsky-Hayner, PhD, CBIST, FACRM, as the 2018 ACRM Distinguished Member.

Dr. Stephanie Kolakowsky-Hayner is an Associate Professor of Research in the Department of Rehabilitation Medicine at Icahn School of Medicine, Mt. Sinai and Co-Investigator on the NIDILRR-funded NY TBI and SCI Model Systems. She serves as Recruitment and Neuropsychological Outcome Consultant for the multicenter NIH-funded Central Thalamic Stimulation for TBI study. She is Immediate Past Chairman of the Board of the Brain Injury Association of California; a member of the Academy of Certified Brain Injury Specialists’ Board of Governors (BOG), ACRM BOG, Pink Concussions Professional Advisory Board, and Independence Care Systems SCI Advisory Committee.

Dr. Kolakowsky-Hayner is Vocational-Community Issues Panel Chair for the Brain Injury Association of America and Mount Sinai’s Guidelines for Rehabilitation and Chronic Disease Management of Adults with Moderate to Severe TBI development project. She serves on the Community Advisory Board of the DOD-funded Chronic Effects of Neurotrauma Consortium and is Co-Chair of the 4th Federal Interagency Conference on TBI.

Dr. Kolakowsky-Hayner has over 20 years’ experience in TBI, SCI, stroke, and other neurologic condition research. She has made over 200 professional presentations and published over 220 peer-reviewed manuscripts, book chapters, and other information materials for professionals and consumers with disabilities.




  • Nomination letter must include nominee contact information  (name, email address, phone number)
  • NIH biosketch or CV for nominee
  • Statement of qualifications describing why the positions and activities outlined in the biosketch or CV qualify the nominee for a particular honor (maximum 500 words)
  • Your name and contact information, including email


Nomination instructions and deadlines

Submit a nomination to the Awards Committee by emailing Terri Compos, Community Relations Manager.

Distinguished Members Award


2017: Angela Hein Ciccia, PhD, CCC-SLP

2016: Angela Colantonio, PhD, OT, Reg. (Ont.), FACRM

2015: Lance Trexler PhD, HSPP, FACRM

2014:  Chris MacDonell, FACRM
Philip A. Morse, PhD, FACRM

2013: Claire Kalpakjian, PhD

2012: Ronald Seel, PhD

2011: Martin Grabois, MD, FACRM
Stephen Page, PhD

2010: Henry B. Betts, MD, FACRM

2009: Marcel Dijkers, PhD, FACRM

2008: Tamara Bushnik, PhD, FACRM

2007: Marcia, Scherer, PhD, FACRM
Donna Langenbahn, PhD, FACRM

2006: Allen W. Heinemann, PhD, ABPP (Rn), FACRM

2005: Kathleen Kalmar, PhD
John Whyte, MD, PhD, FACRM
Gale Whiteneck, PhD, FACRM

2004: Steven R. Hinderer, MD, MS, PT

2003: Karen A. Hart, PhD, FACRM

2002: Joseph T. Giacino, PhD, FACRM
Mark V. Johnston, PhD, FACRM

2001: Keith D. Cicerone, PhD, ABPP, FACRM

2000: No award given.

1999: Dorothy L. Gordon, DNSx, RN, CRRN, FAAN
Judith H. Stanton, RN, MS

1998: Karen E. Wunch, MS, RN, FACRM

1997: Virginia Mills, MS, PT

1996: Douglas E. Harrington, PhD, FACRM
Danese D. Malkmus, MA CCP-SLP CCM

1995: Stanley H. Ducharme Jr., PhD
J. Preston Harley, PhD, FACRM
Denise G. Tate, PhD, FACRM

1994: Justin Alexander, PhD
Kathleen B. Fralish, PhD

1993: J. Kent Canine, PhD
Kristjan T. Ragnarsson, MD

1992: Gerben DeJong, PhD, FACRM

1991: Marcus J. Fuhrer, PhD

1990: Nancy M. Crewe, PhD
Linda M. Hennig, MA, RN
Mary W. McKenzie, MSEd, OTR

1989: Mary D. Romano, MSW (posthumously)