Select Page
Distinguished Member Award ACRM Award

Distinguished Member Award




Sue Ann Sisto received the ACRM 2021 Distinguished Member Award for her extraordinary service to ACRM.


Established in 1988, the Distinguished Member Award honors an ACRM member who significantly contributes to the development and functioning of ACRM. Qualified nominees are ACRM members who provide extraordinary service as a member or chair of a committee, task force, ISIG, or networking group. These individuals demonstrate leadership and organizational abilities and exemplify public service. ACRM is pleased to recognize Sue Ann Sisto, PT, MA, PhD, FACRM as the 2021 ACRM Distinguished Member.



Dr. Sue Ann Sisto has been a physical therapist working in rehabilitation for 40 years and spent the last 20 years conducting rehabilitation research. She served on several advisory boards for grants such as RERCs, NIDRR (now NIDILRR) model systems, NIH multi-center trials, NIH DSMB and NSF. She published in areas of neuromodulation and neuroplasticity, technology, reliability, both nationally and internationally. Dr. Sisto is a grant reviewer for NIH, DOD, Shriners Hospital for Children and a standing member of the MRS study section. She is a past recipient of a then NIDRR ARRT training grant and has served as mentors for MDs, MD/PhD, Postdoctoral Fellows, Masters students and Undergraduate students in a broad area of disciplines beyond rehabilitation research such as with engineering, social scientists, disability studies scientists, behavioral and community health professionals. Dr. Sisto received grants from the Craig H. Neilsen Foundation and the NYS DOH to name a few and served as Chief Editor of a textbook on SCI Rehabilitation. She was the lead in writing a grant to establish the EmpowerSCI program at Stony Brook University and continued to volunteer in this adaptive sports, recreation and rehabilitation program for the past 10 years. Dr. Sisto has been active in ACRM for two decades and active in many of its community groups. She started the SCI group, now the SCI-ISIG in ACRM, and held several leadership positions with the ACRM Board of Governors, including President of ACRM and received the designation of Fellow of ACRM. She is currently an associate editor of the Journal of Spinal Cord Medicine and review for many other rehabilitation journals.