Select Page
ACRM Communities


Interdisciplinary Special Interest Groups (ISIGs) >>

Networking Groups >>

A primary driving force advancing the mission of ACRM is the dedicated volunteers working within ACRM community groups. Each interdisciplinary special interest and networking group is a unique community where like-minded, yet specialized health care and research colleagues network and collaborate to improve the lives of people living with disabling conditions.

Independently, each group pursues their choice of projects and product development initiatives relative to their interests and expertise. Collectively they share a commitment to support the advancement of evidence-based practice, public funding of rehabilitation research and the promotion of high-standards for rehabilitation research.

Most special interest and networking groups are comprised of task forces focused on specific topics or projects. As an ACRM member, you may participate in existing task forces or propose and lead the development of a new one.

There is no better place to participate in a diverse community of your peers and be recognized for your contributions to rehabilitation medicine. All members are encouraged to join and participate in the groups and task forces committed to the issues they care about most. Contact the appropriate chair(s) to get started.


> Brain Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group (BI-ISIG)
Chair: Kristen Dams-O’Connor, PhD

> Spinal Cord Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group (SCI-ISIG)
Chair: Jeanne M. Zanca, PhD, MPT

> Stroke Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group (Stroke-ISIG)
Chair: Mark Kovic, OTD, OTR/L, FAOTA

“What does ACRM Mean to You?”

Wayne Gordon, PhD, ABPP/Cn, FACRM
Mount Sinai Brain Injury Research Center



Arts & Neuroscience Networking Group
Chair: Brian Harris, Ma Mt-BC NMT

Athlete Development & Sports Rehabilitation (ADSR) Networking Group
Co-Chair: Jennifer V. Wethe, PhD, ABPP-CN
Co-Chair: John J. Leddy, MD, FACSM, FACP

Cancer Rehabilitation Networking Group
Chair: Vish Raj, MD 

Complementary, Integrative Rehabilitation Medicine Networking Group
Chair: Sonya Kim, PhD, CRC, BCB

Early Career Networking Group
Chair: Brooks Wingo, PhD

Geriatrics Rehabilitation Networking Group
Chair: Emily Nalder, PhD

Health Services Research Networking Group
Chair: James E. Graham, PhD, DC

International Networking Group
Chair: Fofi Constantinidou, PhD, FACRM

Lifestyle Medicine Group
Co-Chair: Elizabeth Pegg Frates, MD
Co-Chair: Jonas Sokolof, DO
Co-Chair: James Eubanks, DC, MS

Limb Restoration Rehabilitation Group
Co-Chair: Danielle Melton, MD
Co-Chair: Prateek Grover, MD, PhD

Measurement Networking Group
Chair: Noelle Carlozzi, PhD

Military / Veterans Affairs Networking Group
Chair: Christina (Tina) Dillahunt-Aspillaga, PhD, CRC

Neurodegenerative Diseases Networking Group
Chair: Mark A. Hirsch, PhD

Neuroplasticity Networking Group
Co-Chair: Theresa Pape, DrPH, MA, FACRM
Co-Chair: Lynne Gauthier, PhD

Pain Rehabilitation Networking Group
Chair: LaDonna Saxon, PhD

Pediatric Rehabilitation Networking Group
Co-Chair: Angela Hein Ciccia, PhD, CCC-SLP
Co-Chair: Cristina Sadowsky, MD

Physicians and Clinicians Networking Group
Chair: Joseph Rosenthal, MD

Rehabilitation Treatment Specification Networking Group
Chair: John Whyte, MD, PhD, FACRM 

Technology Networking Group
Co-Chair: Megan Mitchell, PhD
Co-Chair: John Morris, PhD