Rosenthal Mid Career Award

Mitchell Rosenthal Mid-Career Award


The Mitchell Rosenthal Mid-Career Award was established in 2013 to recognize clinician-scientists working in the spirit of Dr. Rosenthal in the field of brain injury rehabilitation. ACRM members who are mid-career (within 6 -15 years of completion of training) are eligible. Recipients of this award are leaders in rehabilitation science making significant contributions to the field through their current brain injury rehabilitation research.


Congratulations 2017 AWARD RECIPIENT

Kristen Dams-O'Connor

Kristen Dams-O'Connor

ACRM is pleased to honor Kristen Dams-O'Connor, PhD with the 2017 Mitchell Rosenthal Mid-Career Award in recognition of her leadership and contributions to the field of rehabilitation research.

Kristen Dams-O’Connor, PhD is Director of the Brain Injury Research Center of Mount Sinai and Associate Professor in the Departments of Rehabilitation Medicine and Neurology at Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York, NY. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship in Clinical Neuropsychology at Mount Sinai Medical Center, and a predoctoral internship in neurorehabilitation at the Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine at New York University Medical Center. She received her PhD from the University at Albany. She has published over 50 peer-reviewed manuscripts and chapters on traumatic brain injury treatments and outcomes, and has presented her research internationally. Her primary areas of clinical and research expertise are in neuropsychological assessment, neurobehavioral interventions for individuals with neurological diseases, long-term outcomes after brain injury, and characterizing clinicopathological signatures of TBI. Current projects focus on applying modern psychometric and statistical techniques to measure individual differences in trajectories of change over time among survivors of TBI and identifying risk and protective factors for post-TBI neurodegeneration. Her research is currently supported by federal grants from the National Institutes of Health, National Institute for Disability and Rehabilitation Research, and Centers for Disease Control. She is also Director of Research in the Mount Sinai Injury Control Research Center, and a Co-Project Director in the New York Traumatic Brain Injury Model System.


Mitchell Rosenthal, PhD, ABPP, was an early pioneer in the field of traumatic brain injury widely recognized for his contributions to the advancement of clinical exploration and therapeutic practice. He was influential in the founding of the National Head Injury Foundation (now the Brain Injury Association of America), the creation of the Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation, and the development of the national TBI Model System.


2017  Kristen Dams-O'Connor, PhD
Stephanie A. Kolakowsky-Hayner, PhD, CBIST, FACRM
Deirdre R. Dawson, PhD, OT Reg (ON)
2013  Joshua B. Cantor, PhD, ABPP


  • Candidate must be a current member of the American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine.
  • Candidate must attend the current year's ACRM annual conference.
  • Candidate must be within 6 to 15 years of completion of training.
  • Candidate must demonstrate that he or she has been a leader and made significant contributions to rehabilitation research in his or her career work as demonstrated by grant awards, research publications, presentations, etc.
  • Candidate does not need to be within a Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, but must be conducting rehabilitation research.
  • Candidate must show evidence of leadership in a rehabilitation related organization; demonstration of service to ACRM is not a required criterion.
  • Candidates may self-nominate.


  • Nomination letter must include nominee contact information  (name, email address, phone number)
  • A statement of approximately 500 words in length outlining the nominee's research and leadership accomplishments in rehabilitation.
  • Three letters of support that are written by ACRM members.
  • A CV for the nominee.


Nomination instructions and deadlines

Submit nominations to the Awards Committee by emailing Terri Compos, Community Relations Manager.