Select Page
ACRM Stroke Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group Header

2022 Young Investigator In Post-Acute Stroke Award





Congratulations to Sutanuka Bhattacharjya, MS, PhD, OTR/L, the 2022 recipient of the ACRM Award of Excellence in Post-Acute Stroke Rehabilitation. This award lectureship recognizes outstanding clinical, intellectual, and service contributions in the area of stroke. Dr. Bernhardt is Senior Principal Research Fellow at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health.

Dr. Bhattacharjya will present the award during the ACRM Annual Conference.




Dr. Sutanuka Bhattacharjya is an occupational therapist with educational and clinical background in both India and the United States. She is an Assistant Professor in the Occupational Therapy department at Georgia State University. Dr. Bhattacharjya collaborates with and is a member of international multidisciplinary research teams to develop and investigate innovative programs to promote self-management of rehabilitation by individuals with disabilities and their families. She has received past and current funding on developing and implementing self-management of rehabilitation programs for community-dwelling individuals with stroke; community-based rehabilitation workers in India; and caregivers of children with cerebral palsy. She received her MS in Occupational Therapy, PhD in Rehabilitation Science, and postdoctoral training from University at Buffalo. Dr. Bhattacharjya is one of the inaugural co-chairs for the Communication Task Force within the Technology Networking Group in the ACRM. She established the Tech Talk webinar series within the Technology Networking Group. She is also a member of the Stroke Interdisciplinary Group and the International Networking Group within ACRM. In addition to generating peer-reviewed publications, Dr. Bhattacharjya regularly presents her research at state and national conferences.