Special Symposia 2017

Special Symposia are not-to-be-missed presentations & Award Lectures led by leading researchers and clinicians

Identified by the ACRM Program Committee, SPECIAL SYMPOSIA refer to one or more symposium in each block of concurrent sessions, luncheon lectures, and award lectures that have extra-wide appeal


Ann McKee, MD
Director, CTE Center; Professor of Neurology & Pathology, Boston University/ VA Medical Center

Jennie L. Ponsford, BA (Hons), MA, PhD
Professor of Neuropsychology and Director, Monash Epworth Rehabilitation Research Centre, Monash University

Featured Session: Donald G. Stein, PhD
Asa G. Candler Professor, Distinguished Professor
Emory University


Robert Teasell, MD, FRCP
Professor and Director of Research, Medical Director of Stroke Rehabilitation, Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry, Western University

Steven L. Wolf, PhD, PT, FAPTA, FAHA
Professor, Division of Physical Therapy, Department of Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine

Leora Cherney, PhD, BC-ANCDS, CCC-SLP
Scientific Chair: Think & Speak Lab and Professor, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and Communication Sciences & Disorders
Shirley Ryan AbilityLab and Northwestern University


John Whyte, MD, PhD, FACRM
Director, Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute

Tessa Hart, PhD, FACRM
Institute Scientist, Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute

Marcel Dijkers, PhD, FACRM
Research Director, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Sarah B. Rockswold, MD
Medical Director of the Traumatic Brain Injury Center of Excellence
Hennepin County Medical Center

David Cifu, MD
Herman J. Flax, MD Professor
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine


Eric Leskowitz, MD
Director, Integrative Medicine Task Force, Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital


David Rhew, MD
Chief Medical Officer and Head of Healthcare and Fitness, Samsung Electronics America


Mark Hallett, MD
Chief, Human Motor Control Section, NINDS, NIH


Michele K. York, PhD
Baylor College of Medicine

Mohammed Sanjak, PhD, PT
Carolinas HealthCare System


Michael Stubblefield, MD
Medical Director for Cancer Rehabilitation, Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation; National Medical Director for Cancer Rehabilitation, Select Medical


Steven Kirshblum, MD
Director of the Spinal Cord Injury Program
Kessler Institution for Rehabilitation


Featured Session: Funding SessionFEATURED SESSION: Federal Funding Opportunities & Initiatives for Rehabilitation

REGISTER ONLINE HERE or Register by Phone: +1.703.435.5335
ACRM Conference Home PagePROGRAM buttonREGISTER button
*Although significant changes are not anticipated, all schedules, sessions, and presenters posted on this website are subject to change.