Select Page
NSA-ACRM Excellence in Post-Acute Stroke Rehabilitation Award

ACRM / National Stroke Association Award for Excellence in Post-Acute Stroke


Robert TeasellThe 2018 award recognizes the outstanding work of Robert Teasell, MD, FRCP (C),  Professor and Director of Research at Parkwood Institute. Dr. Teasell will discuss his work in an award lecture at the ACRM 2018 Annual Conference in Dallas, Texas.

In addition, Dr. Teasell will present a Special Symposium titled, Transforming Clinical Practice in Stroke Rehabilitation.



Dr. Teasell obtained an undergraduate degree in Biology BSc and medical degree at the University of Western Ontario. He completed a rotating internship at St. Joseph’s Hospital, London and residency training in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the University of Ottawa. He was a consultant physiatrist at University Hospital in London from 1986-2002 and Parkwood Hospital, St. Joseph’s Health Care London from 2002-present. He was Chief of PM&R at University Hospital from 1988-1996, Chief of PM&R at London Health Sciences Centre from 1996-2001 and City-Wide Chief from 2001-2012. He was Acting Chair of the Western University Department of PM&R from 1997-1999 and Chair from 2001-2012.

He is currently the Research Director of the Department of PM&R, Western University. Dr. Teasell is Medical Director of the Stroke Rehabilitation Program at Parkwood Institute and has an active outpatient chronic pain practice. Dr. Teasell is a past Chair of the Research Committee of the Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, a past member of the Ontario and Canadian Stroke Strategy Executive Committee, and a past examiner for the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons for Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He is or has been on the editorial board of the Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Topics in Stroke Rehabilitation and the Journal of Pain Research and Management and was a Section Editor of the Journal of Stroke.

Dr. Teasell has received several awards including the Physician Staff Organization Reward and Recognition Award for St. Joseph’s Health Care London (2008), the Merit Award from the Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (2010) and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada McLaughlin-Gallie Visiting Professor Award (2012). In 2016 he delivered the Ray Hnatyshyn lecture at the Canadian Stroke Congress.


For award history, qualification requirements or nomination procedures, please visit the Excellence in Post Acute Stroke Award webpage.