Select Page
Career Development NG AWARDS

CDNG Awards




The Career Development Outstanding Mentor Award was established in 2016 to honor those who have significantly contributed through mentorship to the development of early career rehabilitation professionals, the Early Career Development Course and the Career Development Networking Group’s Mentoring Task Force. Deadline to respond is 1 April 2023.


The ACRM CDNG Outstanding Mentor Award was established in 2016 to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions to mentoring rehabilitation professionals at any career level within and outside of ACRM. The Award is given each year by the ACRM CDNG. This award is open to ACRM members and comes with a plaque. {Insert link:} 


  • Candidate has made significant contributions to mentoring of rehabilitation professionals within and outside of ACRM.  
  • Please note that regardless of how outstanding the nominee’s contributions to mentoring rehabilitation professionals may be, the nominee must also demonstrate an outstanding record of service to mentoring ACRM members. 
  • Candidate must be a current member of ACRM. 
  • Candidate must attend the current year’s ACRM annual conference. 
  • Members may self-nominate. 



  1. A statement of approximately 500 words in length outlining the nominee’s contributions to mentoring in rehabilitation.  
  2. Two letters of support written by ACRM members and/or non-members. One letter must be from a current or former mentee. 
  3. A CV for the nominee. 


Please submit nomination statement, letters of support (2), and CV as one pdf via email to Terri Compos, Community Relations ManagerNominations are due by 27 February 2023. 


Congratulations to 2023 Recipient



The Career Development Networking Group is pleased to recognize Abiodun Akinwuntan PhD, MPH, MBA, FASAHP, FACRM, FAMedS with the 2023 Career Development Networking Group Outstanding Mentor Award.




Past Recipients


          2022: Patricia Heyn, PhD, FGSA, FACRM

          2021: Monique R. Pappadis, MEd, PhD

2020: Trudy Mallinson PhD, OTR/L, FACRM, FAOTA 

2019: Claire Z. Kalpakjian, PhD, MS

2018: Stephanie Kolakowsky-Hayner, PhD, CBIST, FACRM

2017: Theresa Pape, DrPH, MA, CCC-SLP/L, FACRM

2016: Ralph Nitkin, PhD

CARF International logoDeborah L. Wilkerson Early Career Award

Supported by CARF International


The Deborah L. Wilkerson Early Career Award Supported by CARF International is given by ACRM to early career professionals who are making significant contributions in the field of rehabilitation. Recipients receive a plaque, monetary award, travel stipend, complimentary registration, and an opportunity to present at the ACRM Annual Conference. Learn more >>


Congratulations to 2020 Awardee


Deborah L. Wilkerson Award 2020 Recipient Shannon Juengst

The ACRM Awards Committee is pleased to honor Shannon Juengst, PhD, CRC with the 2020 Deborah L. Wilkerson Early Career Award in recognition of her early career accomplishments reflective of the spirit of interdisciplinary rehabilitation. Dr. Juengst is an Assistant Professor at the UT Southwestern Medical Center. Learn More >>


Past Awardees

2020: Shannon Juengst, PhD, CRC
Alex W.K. Wong, PhD, DPhil
2018: John Ross Rizzo, MD, MSCI
2017: Emily Nalder, PhD, BOccThy (Hons)
2016: Yelena Goldin, PhD
2015: Tatyana Mollayeva, MD, PhD
2014: Brad Kurowski, MD, MS
2013: Dawn Neumann, PhD
2012: Elizabeth Skidmore, PhD, OTR/L
2011: Deborah Backus, PT, PhD
2010: Ronald Seel, PhD
2009: Anne F. Deutsch, PhD
2008: Cynthia Harrison Felix, PhD
2007: Angelle Sanders, PhD
2006: Stephen J. Page, PhD

Beth Skidmore image

Beth Skidmore (center); Tamara Bushnik, ACRM President; and Wayne Gordon, Awards Committee Chair

“Receiving the Deborah L. Wilkerson Early Career Award is a great honor. I highly value the scientific and clinical community within the Congress, and receiving recognition from this esteemed group of scientists and professionals is humbling and rewarding.”

–Elizabeth Skidmore, PhD, OTR/L, Associate Professor School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, University of Pittsburgh




image: Angelle Sander

Angelle Sander

“Receiving the Deborah L. Wilkerson Early Career Award was the most cherished honor that I have had in my career. This is because it was awarded by people in the field of rehabilitation that I truly respect and admire. I know that the Wilkerson awardees are carefully chosen to represent the spirit of Deb Wilkerson, who was a role model in providing holistic rehabilitation services and conducting meaningful research. Receipt of this award meant that my research was perceived as making a difference in the lives of people with disabilities, which is the greatest honor one can receive.”

Angelle Sander, PhD, FACRM, Assistant Professor, Baylor College of Medicine, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation