Select Page


Dr. Bernard Brucker

Dr. Bernard Brucker

The Brucker International Symposium

Each year, the International Networking Group sponsors the Brucker International Symposium held during the ACRM Annual Conference. This ING signature event was established in 2008 in memory of Dr. Bernard (Bernie) Brucker, a long-standing ACRM member, who died unexpectedly that year. Originally established as a lecture luncheon, the event has become a popular ACRM tradition and continues today as a very special symposium.

The winner of 2017 Brucker’s Award is Maria Vlassopoulos. Maria Vlassopoulos PhD. Maria Vlassopoulos is Assistant Professor in Language and Communication Pathology, 1st Psychiatric Department of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens Medical School, Greece. She will be presenting her work at the 2017 ACRM Annual Conference.

Brucker International Symposium Presenter: Μaria Vlassopoulos, PhD; University of Athens School of Medicine: at ACRM Conference: Atlanta USA


Brucker Award Winners to Date

2016: Stephanie Nixon, BA, BHSc, MSc, PhD
Global Health and Rehabilitation Research: What are the opportunities on the horizon?

2015:  Eli Vakil, PhD
Dissociation Between Memory Processes: The Contribution of Research on Memory Impairment Following Traumatic Brain Injury

2014:  Donald T. Stuss, PhD, C Psych, ABPP-CN
Completing the Circle between Science and Rehabilitation: The Ontario Brain Institute Story

2013:  Kathryn M. McPherson, RN, RM, DIP HV, BA (HONS), PhD
International Partnering in Research

2012:  Marcel Post, PhD
Need and Opportunities for Cross-Cultural Studies on Quality of Life in Rehabilitation Medicine

2011:  John Stone, PhD
Issues in International Collaboration in Rehabilitation Research


ING Poster Award

This award is for an outstanding poster by international presenters whose work advances the state of the art in rehabilitation medicine or for an outstanding poster that best exhibits a topic of international relevance and promotes international collaboration. This is awarded at the ACRM Annual Conference during the ING Business Meeting. The first award was granted in 2015.

2017:  To be announced at the ACRM Annual Conference

2016:  Dr. Pauline Penney

Professional and Paediatric Rehabilitation Services Ltd, Auckland, New Zealand.
Collaborative Practice in Community Based Rehabilitation Teams: An International Perspective

2015:  Dr. Birgitta Langhammer

Oslo and Akershus University College, Sunnaas Rehabilitation Hospital, Oslo, Norway
Disability After Stroke: An Explorative Study in Patients Admitted to Specialized Rehabilitation the Sunnaas International Network (SIN) Stroke Study