Select Page

Message from the Outgoing Communications Task Force Chair, Alison Cogan


Alison Cogan

Alison Cogan

It is hard to believe that my time as the Chair of the Early Career Networking Group Communications Task Force Chair is over! Serving in this role for the last two years has been a rewarding experience and I have especially enjoyed connecting with new early career ACRM members.

The primary product of the ECNG Communications Task Force is our quarterly newsletter. In each issue, we feature original articles by early career members, a Research Spotlight on an ACRM member, an Ask the Mentor column, updates about ACRM conferences and awards, and resources on topics like scientific writing, grant opportunities, mentoring, career advancement, work-life integration, and more. The ongoing success of this newsletter is the result of the dedicated members of the ECNG Communications Task Force as well as contributions from numerous ACRM members and leaders. The ECNG is working on some exciting new products in 2019, so look out for the upcoming newsletters for details. Ekaterina (Kat) Dobryakova will be stepping up as the new ECNG Communications Task Force Chair and I have no doubt that the newsletter will continue to evolve and improve to best meet the needs of early career ACRM members.

I am grateful to my predecessor, Dawn Neumann, for her encouragement and support during my terms as chair-elect and chair of the Communications Task Force.  Thank you, Kat, for serving as chair-elect of the Communications Task Force for the last two years. Megan Mitchell, Brooks Wingo, Monique Pappadis, and Reza Ehsanian have been great leaders to work alongside in the ECNG. And of course, we would be lost without the support of our amazing ACRM staff! Cindy Robinson always manages to get our newsletters out on time (even ahead of schedule!) and looking fantastic. Terri Compos and Sam Dixon make sure our meetings are scheduled and running smoothly.

I look forward to continuing my service as both past chair of the Communications Task Force as well as chair-elect of the ECNG. Please join me in welcoming Kat Dobryakova as the new ECNG Communications Task Force Chair!

Warm regards,

Alison M. Cogan, PhD, OTR/L
Chair, ECNG Communications Task Force (2016-2018)