Select Page
header image for ACRM Spinal Cord Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group

Congratulations 2022 Recipient


Heather Taylor receives the 2021 SCI-ISIG Dr. Margaret Nosek Award - IMAGE


Please join ACRM in congratulating Heather Taylor, PhD, MS, M.Ed., selected by the SCI-ISIG Executive Committee as the inaugural recipient of the SCI-ISIG Dr. Margaret Nosek Award. The award recognizes an individual who demonstrates drive and commitment to advancing scientific knowledge, developing standards of clinical practice, raising awareness, and advocating for appropriate health care and community support for women with disabilities. The award is given each year as part of the Margaret Nosek Lecture series presented by the ACRM SCI-ISIG. Visit the Online Program to identify all SCI-related presentations coming to the ACRM 2022 Conference.


Heather B. Taylor, Ph.D., M.S., M.Ed., is the Director for Spinal Cord Injury and Disability Research (SCIDR) at TIRR Memorial Hermann and Associate Professor for Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at UTHealth. She also holds an adjunct faculty appointment at Baylor College of Medicine. She is the former Chair for both the Spinal Cord Injury Model Systems and the American Congress for Rehabilitation Medicine (ACRM) Special Interest Group (SIG) Women’s Health Task Force focusing on the unique concerns of women’s health after spinal cord injury (SCI). Dr. Taylor has focused her research on health, motor recovery and learning, and psychosocial functioning with a strong emphasis on women and children with SCI. Dr. Taylor has a long history conducting research with a mission to improve the lives of people with disabilities and has been Principal Investigator/Co-Investigator on over 30 funded projects