Select Page

Fellow of ACRM


The ACRM Fellows Committee and Board of Governors are pleased to recognize Dr. Karen L. McCulloch for her outstanding record of professional service to ACRM and for the nationally significant contributions she has made to the field of medical rehabilitation by conferring on her the designation of ACRM Fellow.

Dr. Ekaterina Dobryakova is a 2022 Fellow of ACRM


Please join them in congratulating Dr. Karen L. McCulloch. She will be recognized for her service and achievement at the The ACRM Gala, during the ACRM 2022 Annual Conference (ticketed event). All registered attendees are welcome and encouraged to attend.


Karen McCulloch, PT, PhD, MS, FAPTA is a Professor in Physical Therapy, Division of PT, Department of Health Sciences, School of Medicine, University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill where she has taught entry-level and advanced level students neurorehabilitation since 1993. She is an American Board of Physical Therapy Specialities Neurologic Certified Specialist Emerita. She has been active in the Academy for Neurology Physical Therapy in various leadership roles, is a Catherine Worthingham fellow of APTA and Lucy Blair Service Award winner. She has been active in ACRM for many years, finding it the best source for up to date information on TBI. She has served ACRM as Brain Injury ISIG secretary and various task force and committee roles including current work on the mTBI Task Force. She sits on the Editorial Board for Journal of Neurologic PT, Brain Injury and Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation. Karen has cared for individuals with traumatic brain injury since beginning as a PT in clinical practice, beginning with moderate to severe brain injury in multiple settings, to recent focus on military concussion. Her research includes development of outcome measures and interventions to improve active movement, balance, dual-task performance and functional mobility, with the aim to improve quality of life. Funding support has come from the Foundation for Physical Therapy, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Football League, National Institutes of Health, and Department of Defense.