Select Page
FACRM Fellows of ACRM header



Congratulations to the 2019 Fellows of ACRM. This designation recognizes active members with an outstanding record of professional service to ACRM who have also made contributions of national significance to the field of medical rehabilitation. These dedicated members were recognized for their service and achievement at the Henry B. Betts Awards Dinner & Gala, on 7 November, at the ACRM 96th Annual Conference in Chicago.

Awarded on 7 November 2019 at the Henry B. Betts Awards Dinner & Gala
ACRM 96th Annual Conference at the Hilton Chicago



Leora Reiff Cherney, PhD, CCC-SLP, BC-ANCD

Scientific Chair, Think and Speak Lab, at the Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
Professor of both Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and Communication Sciences & Disorders
Northwestern University
Shirley Ryan AbilityLab
ACRM Nominating Committee Member


James GrahamJames E. Graham PhD, DC

Director | Center for Community Partnerships
Professor | Department of Occupational Therapy
Colorado State University
Chair, ACRM Health Services Research Networking Group


Juliet Haarbauer-Krupa imageJuliet Haarbauer-Krupa, PhD

Senior Health Scientist
Traumatic Brain Injury Team
Division of Unintentional Injury Prevention
National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Co-Chair, ACRM Brain Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group Pediatric & Adolescent Task Force


Mark HirschMark A. Hirsch, PhD

Senior Scientist, Director, Dept. of PM&R Residency Research Education
Director, Parkinson and Movement Disorders Lab
Carolinas Rehabilitation, Carolinas Medical Center, Atrium Health
Chair, ACRM Neurodegenerative Diseases Networking Group


Helen HoenigHelen Hoenig, MD, MPH

Chief, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation Service
Durham VA Health Care System
Professor of Medicine/Geriatrics
Duke University Medical Center
Deputy Editor, Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation


Brad KurowskiBrad Kurowski, MD, MS

Associate Professor
Director, Brain Injury Rehabilitation Program
Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Co-director, Brain Recovery after Injury (BRAIN) Health and Wellness Center
Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
Department of Pediatrics and Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine
University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Cincinnati, OH
Co-Chair, ACRM Program Committee
Co-Chair, ACRM Training Institute Committee
Past Co-Chair, ACRM Physicians & Clinicians Networking Group


Drew NageleDrew Nagele, PsyD, CBIST, CESP

Clinical Professor, Department of Psychology
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine 
Nagele NeuroRehab Consulting, LLC
Co-Chair, ACRM Brain Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group Pediatric & Adolescent Task Force


Jeanne ZancaJeanne Zanca, PhD, MPT

Senior Research Scientist, Spinal Cord Injury Research
Kessler Foundation
Research Associate Professor
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
Chair, ACRM Spinal Cord Injury Interdisciplinary Special Interest Group
Chair-Elect, ACRM Rehabilitation Specification Networking Group