Select Page

The Brucker International Symposium

Dr. Bernard Brucker

Dr. Bernard Brucker

Each year, the International Networking Group sponsors the Brucker International Symposium held during the ACRM Annual Conference. This ING signature event was established in 2008 in memory of Dr. Bernard (Bernie) Brucker, a long-standing ACRM member, who died unexpectedly that year. Originally established as a lecture luncheon, the event has become a popular ACRM tradition and continues today as a very special symposium.

Dina Brooks, PT, PhD

Dina Brooks, PT, PhD

The winner of 2020 Brucker Award is Dina Brooks, PT, Ph.D. Dina Brooks is a Professor, Vice-Dean (Health Sciences) and the Executive Director at the School of Rehabilitation Science, at McMaster University, in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. She will be presenting her work on Conducting International Rehabilitation Randomized Controlled Clinical Trials, at the 2020 ACRM Annual Conference, held on the 22nd of October at 4:45 PM ET.


Past Brucker Award Winners

2019: Lena Verdeli, Ph.D., MSc. Capacity-Building in Low-Resource Regions: Lessons Learned from Global Mental Health.

2018: Iracema Leroi, MD, FRCPC, MRCPSYCH, Ears, Eyes and Mind: The SENSE-Cog Project to Promote Well-Being for Elderly Europeans.

2017: Maria Vlassopoulos, PhD, The Refugee Crisis in Greece and the Response of Mental Health Professional Community.

2016: Stephanie Nixon, BA, BHSc, MSc, PhD, Global Health and Rehabilitation Research: What are the opportunities on the horizon?

2015:  Eli Vakil, PhDDissociation Between Memory Processes: The Contribution of Research on Memory Impairment Following Traumatic Brain Injury.

2014:  Donald T. Stuss, PhD, C Psych, ABPP-CN, Completing the Circle between Science and Rehabilitation: The Ontario Brain Institute Story.

2013:  Kathryn M. McPherson, RN, RM, DIP HV, BA (HONS), PhDInternational Partnering in Research.

2012:  Marcel Post, PhDNeed and Opportunities for Cross-Cultural Studies on Quality of Life in Rehabilitation Medicine.

2011:  John Stone, PhDIssues in International Collaboration in Rehabilitation Research.


ING Poster Award

This award is for an outstanding poster by international presenters whose work advances the state of the art in rehabilitation medicine or for an outstanding poster that best exhibits a topic of international relevance and promotes international collaboration. This is awarded at the ACRM Annual Conference during the ING Business Meeting. The first award was granted in 2015. The 2020 Poster Award winner will be announced during the International Networking Group Meeting at the ACRM Virtual Conference.

Past Award Winners

2019: Sutanuka Bhattacharjya, PhD & James Lenker, PhD, Using smartphones to disseminate video-based rehabilitation training materials in resource-poor regions in India (#1025897)

2018: Erica Zurawski, MPT, BSc, Inter-rater Reliability of the Modified Ashworth Scale tested Using Consistent Movement Speeds (#793632)

2017: Feng-Hang Chang, ScD, OTR/L, Application of the Dual Panel Translation Approach to Adapt A Patient-reported Outcome Measure (#303542)

2016: Pauline Penney, PhD, Collaborative practice in community based rehabilitation teams: An international perspective (#299)

2015: Birgitta Langhammer, PhD, Disability after stroke: An explorative study in patients admitted to specialized rehabilitation the Sunnaas International Network (SIN) Stroke Study (#4122)