Select Page


Dr. Bernard Brucker

Bernard Brucker

Each year, the International Networking Group sponsors the Brucker International Symposium held during the ACRM Annual Conference. This ING signature event was established in 2008 in memory of Dr. Bernard (Bernie) Brucker, a long-standing ACRM member, who died unexpectedly that year. Originally established as a lecture luncheon, the event has become a popular ACRM tradition and continues today as a very special symposium.

2018 Brucker International Award

Iracema Leroi

The winner of the 2018 Brucker International Award is Iracema Leroi, MD. Dr. Leroi is a Professor and Honorary Consultant in Psychiatry, at the University of Manchester/ Greater Manchester Mental Health & NHS Foundation Trust. She will present, Ears, Eyes and Mind: The SENSE-Cog Project to Promote Well-Being for Elderly Europeans, at the 2018 ACRM Annual Conference in Dallas on 1 October. Learn more >>

Read our interview with Dr. Leroi in this issue >>

Brucker International Award Winners To-Date

Pictured above from left to right:


2017: Maria Vlassopoulos, PhD
The Refugee Crisis in Greece and the Response of Mental Health Professional Community.

2016: Stephanie Nixon, BA, BHSc, MSc, PhD
Global Health and Rehabilitation Research: What are the opportunities on the horizon?

2015:  Eli Vakil, PhD
Dissociation Between Memory Processes: The Contribution of Research on Memory Impairment Following Traumatic Brain Injury

2014 Donald T. Stuss, PhD, C Psych, ABPP-CN
Completing the Circle between Science and Rehabilitation: The Ontario Brain Institute Story

2013:  Kathryn M. McPherson, RN, RM, DIP HV, BA (HONS), PhD
International Partnering in Research

2012:  Marcel Post, PhD
Need and Opportunities for Cross-Cultural Studies on Quality of Life in Rehabilitation Medicine

2011:  John Stone, PhD (Not pictured)
Issues in International Collaboration in Rehabilitation Research


Feng Hang Chang Poster Award Winner

2017 International Poster Award Winner: Feng Hang Chang

This award is for an outstanding poster by international presenters whose work advances the state of the art in rehabilitation medicine or for an outstanding poster that best exhibits a topic of international relevance and promotes international collaboration. This is awarded at the ACRM Annual Conference during the ING Business Meeting. The first award was granted in 2015.


2015 – Dr. Birgitta Langhammer. # 4122. Disability after stroke. An explorative study in patients admitted to specialized rehabilitation the Sunnaas International Network (SIN) Stroke Study. Oslo and Akershus University College, Sunnaas rehabilitation hospital, Oslo, Norway

2016 – Dr. Pauline Penney. #299. “Collaborative practice in community based rehabilitation teams: An international perspective”. Professional and Paediatric Rehabilitation Services Ltd, Auckland, New Zealand

2017 – Dr. Feng-Hang Chang. # 303542 “Application of the Dual Panel Translation Approach to Adapt A Patient-reported Outcome Measure”

2018 To be announced at the annual meeting.