Select Page

The Awards Committee, chaired by Stephanie Kolakowsky-Hayner, is pleased to announce the 2015 recipients of the seven prestigious ACRM awards. Each recipient has made significant contributions to the field of rehabilitation medicine and the advancement of the ACRM mission to improve lives through rehabilitation research.

All awards will be presented during the ACRM 92nd Annual Conference in Dallas. Join your colleagues in the celebration by attending the Henry B. Betts Awards Gala on 29 October 2015.

Tickets to this event may be purchased during conference registration. Tickets may also be added to an existing registration any time by returning to online registration or by calling +1.703.574.5845.


2015 ACRM Awards Recipients


John Corrigan

John Corrigan

Gold Key Award

The 2015 award recipient is John Corrigan, PhD.

The Gold Key Award was established in 1932 as a certificate of merit for members of the medical and allied professions who have rendered extraordinary service to the cause of rehabilitation. It is the highest honor given by ACRM.

“I am so honored to hear this news. ACRM is the quintessential professional organization for the career path I have pursued. To be recognized in this way is truly gratifying. Thank you!”—John Corrigan


Lance Trexler

Lance Trexler

Distinguished Member Award

The 2015 award recipient is Lance Trexler, PhD, HSPP, FACRM.

Established in 1988, the Distinguished Member Award honors an ACRM member who significantly contributes to the development and functioning of ACRM. Qualified nominees are ACRM members who provide extraordinary service as a member or chair of a committee, task force, ISIG, or networking group. These individuals demonstrate leadership and organizational abilities, and exemplify public service.

“This is delightful and I am most appreciative and honored!!!  Thank you very much!”—Lance Trexler


Deirdre Dawson

Deirdre Dawson

Mitchell Rosenthal Memorial Award

The 2015 award recipient is Deirdre R. Dawson, PhD, OT Reg (ON)

The Mitchell Rosenthal Memorial Award was established in 2013 to recognize clinician-scientists working in the spirit of Dr. Rosenthal in the field of brain injury rehabilitation. ACRM members who are mid-career (6-15 years after completion of training) are eligible. Recipients of this award are leaders in rehabilitation science making significant contributions to the field through their current brain injury rehabilitation research.

“Thank you so much!  And special thanks to Angela for my nomination!”—Deirdre Dawson

Michael Boninger, MD

Michael Boninger

John Stanley Coulter Award

The 2015 award recipient is Michael Boninger, MD

Dr. Boninger will present the John Stanley Coulter Award Lecture,  From Neuroprosthetics to Wheelchairs: The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly of Assistive Technology on 29 October during the ACRM 92nd Annual Conference.

To be named the Coulter Lecturer is to be recognized as one whose professional achievements have contributed significantly to the field of rehabilitation, as did Dr. John Stanley Coulter. Dr. Coulter helped to establish the AMA Council on Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation and was its chairman from 1942 to 1949. Always striving to improve the training of physical therapy technicians, he was instrumental in forming the American Registry of Physical Therapy Technicians.

“Dr. Boninger combines clinical, business and research experience to deliver thought-provoking and entertaining presentations. He is a ‘grounding rod’ for converting exciting technologies to real function gain for people with mobility impairments.”—Jennifer French, MBA, Executive Director, Neurotech Network


Hubert Vuagnat

Hubert Vuagnat

Edward Lowman Award

The 2015 award recipient is Hubert Vuagnat, MD.

The Lowman Award was established in 1989 in honor of Edward Lowman, MD, who recognized the importance of multidisciplinary teams in rehabilitation. Honorees are ACRM members whose careers reflect an energetic promotion of the spirit of interdisciplinary rehabilitation.

“I’m very much honored. Interdisciplinary really does play a major role in all activities I’m either leading or participate in.”—Hubert Vuagnat


Tatyana Mollayeva

Tatyana Mollayeva

Deborah L. Wilkerson Early Career Award

The 2015 award recipient is Tatyana Mollayeva, MD, RPSGT, PhD

This award is given in memory of Deborah L. Wilkerson, former ACRM president and fellow. Deborah was devoted to improving the quality of rehabilitation and independent living services. She demonstrated commitment to person-centered services and served as a powerful advocate for individuals with disabilities.

“I am grateful and honored to have been selected as a recipient of the 2015 ACRM Deborah Wilkerson Award.  Please accept my deepest thanks and appreciation for this recognition. It inspires me to know that the ACRM is supportive of the spirit of interdisciplinary rehabilitation to which I am devoted.”—Tatyana Mollayeva


Joshua Cantor

Joshua Cantor

Elizabeth and Stanley Licht Award

The 2015 award posthumously honors Joshua Cantor, PhD.

The Elizabeth and Sidney Licht Award recognizes excellence in scientific writing in rehabilitation medicine. Only articles presenting potentially significant empirical and theoretical contributions to rehabilitation medicine, and demonstrating soundness of methodology and data analysis are considered for the award.