Select Page

2018 Awards & Scholarships




ACRM BI Cantor Award 2018 Recipient Dr. Lequerica


The BI-ISIG Executive Committee is pleased to recognize the recipient of the 2018 Joshua B. Cantor Award is Anthony H. Lequerica, PhD. This award was established in honor of Joshua Cantor, former ACRM and BI-ISIG member. Award recipients are recognized as a professional, whose work embodies the spirit of Dr. Cantor’s endeavors and achievements, which aimed to provide solace, meaning, and hope to individuals with TBI. It is clear from Dr. Lequerica’s body of work and accomplishments that she shares this vision.

Dr. Lequerica currently holds a dual position as a Senior Research Scientist at Kessler Foundation’s Center for Traumatic Brain Injury Research with a clinical appointment as a Staff Neuropsychologist in the Cognitive Rehabilitation Program at Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation. He is also a Research Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Rutgers, New Jersey Medical School. As Director of the Brain and Behavior Outcomes Lab, his major area of research focus lies in the field of physical medicine and rehabilitation, examining sleep/wake abnormalities after brain injury and their impact on cognitive functioning, fatigue, and engagement in rehabilitation therapies. He is also interested in studying how cultural issues impact brain injury rehabilitation outcomes for racial/ethnic minorities and in the neuropsychological assessment of underserved populations.

Dr. Lequerica obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Psychology from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. During his first three years of graduate school, he studied sleep research and behavioral sleep medicine at the City University of New York Graduate School under the mentorship of Dr. Arthur Spielman. He went on to obtain his doctoral degree in Clinical Psychology with a specialization in Neuropsychology from Wayne State University in Detroit, Michigan. He completed a two-year post-doctoral fellowship in the Advanced Rehabilitation Research Training program sponsored by the National Institute for Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research at the University of Michigan.

At Rutgers, New Jersey Medical School, Dr. Lequerica serves as a member of the Diversity Committee and provides training and mentorship to residents and postdoctoral fellows fulfilling their research requirements. He is a member of the Hispanic Neuropsychological Society and he has been specializing in the delivery of neuropsychological services to Spanish-speakers. He is also interested in studying how cultural issues impact brain injury rehabilitation outcomes.  He has over 40 peer-reviewed publications resulting from these lines of research and has given numerous presentations across the U.S. and abroad to researchers, health care professionals, and individuals with brain injury and their families.

Dr. Lequerica was awarded with the honor during the ACRM Henry B. Betts Awards Gala, on Friday, 27 October 2018 at the Hilton Anatole in Dallas, Texas.


Please congratulate fellow ACRM BI-ISIG members, Drs. Angelle M. Sander, PhD and Janet M. Williams, PhD, on their prestigious Brain Injury Association of America awards. They were presented with their award during the ACRM Henry B. Betts Awards Gala on Tuesday, 2 October. Read More >>


William Fields Caveness Award Winner

Angelle Sander

Angelle M. Sander, PhD
Associate Professor with Tenure, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Director, Division of Clinical Neuropsychology and Rehabilitation Psychology
Baylor College of Medicine
Director, Brain Injury Research Center, TIRR Memorial Hermann


Sheldon Berrol, M.D. Clinical Service Award Winner

Janet Williams image

Janet M. Williams, PhD
President and CEO, Communityworks Inc.
Minds Matter LLC





Deborah Lee Price Girls & Women With ABI Task Force Poster Award

Andrew Nabasny BI-ISIG Poster Award WinnerAndrew Nabasny, MS, BS
Student Intern, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Poster: Gender Differences in Behavioral and Emotional Symptoms by Experience of Nightmares After Traumatic Brain Injury



Best Early Career Poster Award

Jessica BrownJessica Brown, PhD, CCC-SLP
Assistant Professor, University of Arizona
Title: Current General Health Characteristics of Young Adults Following Sport and Non-sport Concussion
Authors: Jessica Brown, PhD, CCC-SLP;  Kelly Knollman-Porter



David Strauss, PhD Memorial Award

Dayana Calvo, BI-ISIG Poster Award WinnerDayana Calvo, PhD
Neuropsychology Fellow
James A. Haley VA
Title: Incidence of Sleep Apnea Treatment Compliance in Veterans with Acquired Brain Injury
Authors: Dayana Calvo, PhD; Danielle Cool, Marc A. Silva, Leah Drasher-Phillips, M. Brad Rechkemmer, Dan Schwartz, Karel Calero, William McDowell Anderson, Risa Nakase-Richardson



Scholarships are awarded to early career professionals within five years of completion of training (i.e., terminal degree or fellowship training) or a consumer. They must plan to attend ACRM’s Annual Conference, be active participants in a BI-ISIG Task Force, and receive a nomination endorsement from their Task Force chair(s). Please help us with congratulating our 2018 travel scholarship recipients.

Anne ForrestAnne Forrest, PhD
A Plastic Brain
Brain Injury Association of America
Member of the Girls & Women with ABI Task Force



Alison CoganAlison Cogan, PhD, OTR/L
Postdoctoral Fellow
Washington DC VA Medical Center
Member of the Mild TBI Task Force



Min Jeong Graf imageMin Jeong P. Graf, MD
Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota
Medical Director, TBI Outpatient Program and PM&R Clinic
Hennepin Healthcare
Member of the Disorders of Consciousness Task Force


Shannon Juengst imageShannon Juengst, PhD, CRC
Assistant Professor
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Member of the Chronic TBI Task Force