Select Page

Gold Key Award




The ACRM Awards Committee and Board of Governors are proud to honor Michael L. Jones, PhD, FACRM with the 2020 ACRM Gold Key Award in recognition of his lifetime achievements. This award was established in 1932 as a certificate of merit for members of the medical and allied professions who had rendered extraordinary service to the cause of rehabilitation. It is the highest honor given by ACRM.

The award was presented on 23 October at the Henry B. Betts Awards Gala at the ACRM 2020 VIRTUAL Annual Conference.


Since 1996, Mike has been vice president for research and technology at Shepherd Center and founding director of the Center’s Virginia C. Crawford Research Institute. He is also co-director of the Rehabilitation Engineering Research Center on ICT Access for Mobile Rehabilitation.

Mike began his career working with children and youth with autism and developmental disabilities, specializing in design and management of living environments to promote positive behavioral engagement. He subsequently received his PhD in child psychology (with an emphasis in applied behavior analysis) from the University of Kansas, where he also served as associate director of the Research and Training Center on Independent Living from 1983 to 1988.

From 1988-1992, Mike was program director and regional vice president for Learning Services Corporation, a provider of post-acute transitional living services for individuals with acquired brain injuries. From 1992 until joining Shepherd Center, Mike was associate professor of design and technology at North Carolina State University and executive director of the Center for Universal Design, where he led the effort to establish the Principles of Universal Design.  The Principles have been translated into at least 12 languages and adopted globally as the basis for promoting adoption of universal design.


Gold Key Award Eligibility

Gold Key Award Past Recipients

Other ACRM Awards